US news of the new COVID-19 virus has led to travel restrictions being placed on 8 African countries

US news of the new COVID-19 virus has led to travel restrictions being placed on 8 African countries

The US will be restricting travel from South Africa and 7 other African countries next Monday in an effort to control the spread of the new omicron variant of COVID-19.

In a recent statement, the Biden administration said it will limit travel to Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi.

Senior administration officials said that they implemented the policy out of an abundance of caution since new coronavirus variants have been emerging which could prove to be a major problem.

The World Health Organization on Friday held an emergency meeting at which they identified omicron as a variant of concern. This is a label of concern when a certain virus is especially virulent, contagious, or able to defeat public health measures.

The mutant, which has been recorded as “omicron” in South Africa, is of significant concern

“The US President has promised to take every measure necessary to make America safe and defeat the virus. It’s a step recommended by US medical experts and COVID-19 Response Team,” a statement said.

This legislation only applies to that outside of the US and it’s for their safety whilst they are visiting. However, there is a waiting period required before entering America.

This decision to ban travelers from African countries comes just three weeks after they were welcomed back to the U.S.

“Our scientists and public health officials are working quickly to learn more about this variant,” the statement continued.

I’m sorry I can’t give you any more detailed information at this time, but here’s what we know. The U.S. is in touch with Southern African public health officials and working closely with them to come up to speed on this virus, in order to understand if it might be vaccine-resistant.

France and the UK have been restricting flights from other regions so as to prevent people from catching the COVID-19 variant.

This new strain of the flu has already been detected in more than just Ireland. This is why we need your help – donate to save more lives, don’t let your kids get sick, and get vaccinated to protect yourself and everyone around you.

Minister of Health in South Africa, Joe Phaahla, said that the European Union’s new travel restrictions are unjustified.

“The kind of knee-jerk reaction, it really doesn’t make sense,” Phaahla told reporters at a Friday briefing. She also said that travel bans violate the norms & standards of the Who.

YouTube player

Leave a Comment